Read More">

Why to Choose Ashtanga Yoga course in Rishikesh

Why to Choose Ashtanga Yoga course in Rishikesh

The eight limb tradition, Ashtanga yoga sends a chill in the spine of beginners. Many yoga practitioners presume to learn Ashtanga is a daunting task. It is physically demanding as it follows a set sequence of poses and conduct. But isn’t yoga all about combating our fears? Ashtanga yoga course in Rishikesh is designed for practitioners to feel like dancing to music. It creates an empowering sense of connection with the inner self. 


At Adhiroha, students are swiftly guided through sequences systematically. Whether you are planning to teach yoga professionally or simply do the course for self-development, the Ashtanga yoga course in Rishikesh is simplified to build awareness in end.


What is Ashtanga?

A truly beautiful form of yoga, Ashtanga has its roots in an ancient text called the Yoga Korunta, written by sage Vamana Rishi. It was compiled by Patanjali in 200 BCE and came to be known as the Eight-Fold Path or eight limbs, which one should practice to achieve a complete state of yoga.


Quoting from book two of the Yoga Sutras of Patañjali, “Yama-niyama-asana-pranayama-pratyahara-dharana-dyana-samadhyaya-astavanga,”

throws light on the type of eight limbs. They are yama, niyama, asana, pranayama, pratyahara, dharana, dhyana, and samadhi. They serve as a prescription for moral and ethical conduct.


How Ashtanga Yoga Course in Rishikesh is actually based on Eight Limbs?


Ashtanga yoga course in Rishikesh offers an experience for a meaningful and purposeful life by articulating the sincere practice of eight limbs.



Maintaining a sattvic life involves strict discipline and conduct. The first and the foremost eight limbs of yoga is Yama. It stresses moral ethics on how we shall conduct ourselves with integrity. A yoga practitioner has to churn himself/herself from bad conduct by adopting the path of non-violence, truthfulness, content, and non-possessiveness.


Ashtanga yoga course in Rishikesh is based upon core values intrinsic to the practice of Yama. Compassion is implanted with the method of heart-opening asanas and meditation. Deep relaxation helps to let go of reacting to a situation in a negative way and replace them with thoughts of truthfulness.



To achieve great things, one needs to have a plan and set of regular chores. A routine helps to improve overall health, well-being and productivity. Niyama, the second limb preaches punctuality, self-discipline and regularity. Adhiroha provides an Ashtanga yoga course in Rishikesh with the functionality of regular yajna ceremonies, pre-scheduled meals, and classes.


We also develop the personal habits of practising meditation among our students. Consistent nature walks to develop a sense of contentment, Santosa. Our library allows the practitioners to practice svādhyāya, the study of sacred scriptures.



The third step to achieving yoga hood is to execute steady physical yoga postures to eradicate stress and tensions. Patnajali mentions asana in sutra as “sthira sukham asanam.” Literally means posture should be steady and comfortable. Teachers of the Ashtanga yoga course in Rishikesh enable students to figure out how to engage their muscles to balance strength with openness.


The ultimate goal here is to work consistently and patiently until it reveals that the body and the infinite universe are indivisible.



Pranayama is to bring our awareness onto our breath. Prana is the vital life force that animates and vitalises everything in the universe, including you. In our Ashtanga yoga teacher training course learners come close to varied types of breathing techniques. The classes are designed to keep our respiratory system strong and toned as we age.


We also incorporate pranayama with the practice of asana which not only helps us to combat stress but also revitalizes the body.



It literally translates to ‘withdrawal of senses.’ It is a practice to connect with our true inner-self by allowing the mind to absorb our senses rather than engage with them. Assume you’re resting in savasana on a garden bed where nature is singing. You withdraw your senses from the melody of nature and transfer your attention to the inner world by observing how your body feels.


This is what we practice here. We train our five senses to stay still and when we detect external stimulation, we don't allow them to disrupt our state of mind.



The practice of pratyahara sets the stage for Dharana, a complete concentration. It trains us to focus all our energy on one thing. It allows a mind to calm down and to stop in the middle of an active lifestyle. These days our thoughts are scattered and our plates always stay full to keep us away from self-time.


Ashtanga yoga course in Rishikesh gives a chance to take that break and find stillness. We polish our focus through mantra chanting, meditation and visualization. Such training lets the learners enjoy their day to day activities in greater peace.



Continuum to deeper concentration, Dhyana the seventh limb is the uninterrupted flow of meditation. At this stage, the mind is completely still and quiet. It is a feeling when time stills for the meditator when it is actually flying away.

We inculcate the practice of Dhyana by shifting our focus on one object or by adding mudras. Such methods set aside thoughts and feelings for better concentration.



The final stage of Ashtanga is pure bliss. In Samadhi one completely becomes absorbed in the present after defeating negative traits such as likes- dislike, judgment, worry, ego and fear. It is a complete unification of mind and body. The yoga learner starts enjoying each moment without worrying about the past and future.


The intensive practice of Dharana and Dhyana in the Ashtanga yoga course in Rishikesh escalated the student into a true state of Samadhi.

From meditation exercises to following the moral conduct, Adhiroha disperses its 200, 300 and 500 hrs yoga teacher training course to polish the eightfold path. Constant discipline and practice free us from the confines of social conditioning, collective ego, and personal ego.

Be sure to check back for great new Adhiroha blog articles.

|| 🙏Sarve Jana Sujano Bhavantu, Sarve Sujana Sukhinobhavantu 🙏||